Close
【Free Access Arrangement of Taisui Yuanchen Hall for People who Commit Taisui】

From 21 April to 29 May, all worshippers whose Chinese Zodiac are Tiger, Monkey, Snake, and Pig can enter the "Tai Sui Yuanchen Hall" for free and pray to the Taisui by presenting their identification documents when entering the temple.

Opening Hours of Taisui Yuanchen Hall:
Daily 8:00am - 4:30pm


*All visitors must comply with the relevant requirements under the “vaccine pass” and will be required to use the “LeaveHomeSafe” mobile application.

Religious Affairs

Preaching Taoism

Folk beliefs are based on the people and are observed in general social activities and daily life, such as when people worship the shrines of deities and their ancestors at home, burn incense in temples when necessary, etc. The subject of worship is a wide range of people and objects, including natural phenomena, historical figures who performed meritorious deeds, legendary gods and immortals, etc. Moreover, people’s moral standards and taboos against the gods and ghosts have constructed a clear duality of gods as opposed to demons, ghosts, and monsters.

Tracing ancient legends, myths, and history to their source, one will find that figures such as Tin Hau, Che Kung, Kwan Tai, and Master Wong Tai Sin are transcendent and sanctified, symbolizing power and moral order. For this reason, various religious rituals are carried out as folk beliefs to encourage people to establish kinship with gods and pray to the gods to grant them blessings or the power to resist evil spirits. The people can communicate with the gods through simple prayers, sacrificial methods passed down their clans, etc., but at certain times and places they also need certain religious figures from Taoism, Buddhism, or Confucianism to participate and provide support. In fact, people are keen to worship gods and participate in religious ceremonies as they wish the gods to solve their everyday problems and seek spiritual assistance. Therefore, other than being very practical, folk beliefs are inevitably linked with supernatural powers, which only make the people more eager to worship gods.

In terms of ideology, folk beliefs are an unofficial culture. In terms of cultural appearance, folk beliefs stress practical application and are passed down via local dialects. In terms of social strength, folk beliefs are supported by the public and are inseparable from the lives of the people.

People believe that everything in nature, mountains, rivers, the sun, the moon, stars, etc., have divine energy (lingqi), and that they have a special and mysterious power that can determine the fate of humans. Subsequently, various forms of worshipping nature have developed from this belief.

As the movement of celestial bodies and stars have a great influence on the human world, the ancients associated mankind's states of poverty, wealth, and high or low social status with how bright or dark stars were, as well as the trajectory of their rise and fall, etc. They believed that the brightness or darkness of stars, as well as their disappearance or changes, were related to the birth, aging, sickness, and death of human beings. By observing the changes of stars in the night sky, they ascertained different ways to respond to life.

Because they believed stars had mysterious powers, the ancients worshipped the stars and gave sacrifices to the stars. The Great Dipper was observed to tell the difference in four seasons and give one a sense of direction. Therefore, humans believed the Great Dipper was a hub of the good fortune of Heaven and Earth with governance over the fate of the four seasons. This developed into the belief that the Southern Dipper determined one's life and death, as well as one’s prosperity and status, while the Great Dipper could increase one's longevity. This birthed the “belief and culture of the Southern Dipper and Great Dipper”.

Taoism has continued to be passed down through the generations. The ceremonies that are held at Sik Sik Yuen Wong Tai Sin Temple nowadays are mainly to invoke blessings and longevity for the general public, pray for peace, protection against disasters and solutions to problems, carry forward Master Wong Tai Sin's teaching of “to act benevolently and to teach benevolence”, and pray for peace, good fortune and good health in Hong Kong, as well as social mutual understanding and a harmonious and beautiful life.

Taoism is a religion that values rituals. Unique and diverse rituals are important elements of Taoism. Taoist rituals are sacrificial and worship rituals that conform to Taoist doctrines. Therefore, Taoist rituals are also known as Taoism rites.

1. The meaning of Taoist rituals

Taoist rituals follow a set procedure. During ceremonies, the scriptures must be read out exactly, and the rituals must be performed according to certain procedures. There are also established etiquette and formalities that make use of certain actions and Taoist instruments to communicate the respect of worshippers and the sanctity of the ceremonies. Through the ceremonies, Taoist priests and worshippers are able to communicate with the deities of the ceremony to purify their bodies and minds, achieve spiritual satisfaction, accept enlightenment from the deities, and reflect on themselves.

2. The connotations of Taoism rites

Taoism rites were originally divided into two parts: “Zhai” and “Jiao”. The ancients believed that the first part “Zhai” was the act of cleansing and meditation before performing the sacrificial ritual. This manifested in the following forms: bathing, abstaining from alcohol, abstaining from meat, abstaining from sexual acts, etc. Later, this concept was also applied to mental aspects to become spiritually pure, free from desires, and otherworldly. The second part “Jiao” referred to the sacrifices and etiquette involved when worshipping the gods. All rituals performed by the ancient Taoists to pray for blessings and avert disasters referred to this second part.

3. Development of Taoist rituals

The “Three Repentance Scripture Writing” ritual was used by Zhang Daoling, who founded and was the leader of a Taoist sect in the Eastern Han Dynasty, to pray for worshippers and sick people through repentance. At the time, civilian communities had a ritual custom of regularly purifying a place to pray for blessings and avert disasters for the people. Taoism finally received attention from the government in the Tang Dynasty, and worship rituals were often held for the emperor to pray for the country. In the Ming Dynasty, books such as the “Chronological Register of the Gracious Ordinances of the Illustrious Ming” and the “Hereditary House of the Celestial Master Descended from the Han” recorded 84 Taoist rituals that Zhang Daoling performed for the country. It is apparent that Taoist rituals have had a significant impact on individuals, society, and the country since ancient times.

4. Sik Sik Yuen’s Puyi Altar Taoist rituals

The Taoist rituals of Sik Sik Yuen were mainly passed down from Puyi Altar to the present day. Dr. Lee Yiu-fai (Yee Kok), Abbot of Sik Sik Yuen Wong Tai Sin Temple has also revised the rituals with reference to the text of the “Guang Cheng Yi Zhi” of the Qing Dynasty and “The Taoist Canon”. The Yuen has held a number of large Taoist rituals so far, including the “Great Offering”, “Worshipping the Great Dipper” and so on. It also co-organized the “Ceremony for Yin Yang” with the Hong Kong Taoist Association in 2011 to pray for the victims of the great earthquake of Japan. Since 2012, the Yuen has performed the “Quanzhen School Admittance Rite” from time to time to recruit those who have the intention to convert to Taoism. In 2013, the Yuen was invited by the Qianyuan Temple of Maoshan to perform the consecration ceremony for its Ziguang Altar and bring back the Taoist rituals and culture of the altar back to the temples and palaces of China.
The Yuen also holds scriptures and repentance rituals regularly, once every month, and invites worshippers to participate by reciting scriptures outside the altar, experience Taoist teachings, doctrines, and other ideologies from the ritual, and receive the enlightenment from the gods.

The Taoist concept of maintaining health is the exploration, understanding, and practice of the mutual relationship between humans’ spirit, life, and nature in pursuit of the ultimate goal of achieving longevity.

Taoism, a religion born and bred in China, emphasizes the harmonious relationship between man and nature and the spirit of “Heaven, Earth, and I exist together, and all things and I are one.” Man and nature are regarded as one. They are closely related and coexist. When spring returns to the earth and all things start growing, Taoism advocates that humans do not kill young and pregnant animals. Only then can grass seedlings grow without harm and maintain the ecological balance in accordance with the laws of ecology. The concept of “following nature and protecting the environment” has long existed in the traditional teachings of Taoism.

The three treasures of Taoism are compassion, frugality, and humility. Taoists are taught to be compassionate people who treat all things with a loving heart, cherish nature, and not to destroy nature out of selfish desire. While cultivating Taoism, one should be frugal, which we refer to as being thrifty nowadays, and control one's desires and ambitions. Humility is practiced when we minimize our competition with others, do not seek to pursue material desires and trends, conform to the natural environment, and coexist peacefully with nature.

It is worth mentioning that the gate of the Hong Kong Sik Sik Yuen Wong Tai Sin Temple’s Confucian Veranda displays the altar name of the temple and a door couplet with the name of the Yuen in it. The door couplet translates roughly to “Achieving enlightenment at Puyi Altar, all things are empty at the garden named Sik Sik”. The words “Sik Sik” imply the Taoist doctrine of “calm indifference and the eradication of cravings”. Taoism advocates achieving Tao enlightenment, saving the world by helping people, and doing more good deeds and accumulating virtue, instead of satisfying all of one's material desires, indulging in one’s own life, and doing things that harm others to further one’s own interests. The ultimate concern of Taoism should be the pursuit of a life of self-enlightenment and the lofty ideals of becoming one with the Tao and joining the flow of the good fortune of Heaven and Earth. The spirit of compassion and environmental protection, benefiting the common people is a creed and responsibility of all Taoists.

关闭
【重要通告】
按政府就10/1/2022强制检测公告,政府强烈提醒市民必须严格遵守强制检测要求,即使已接种新冠疫苗亦必须接受强检。

指明任何人士曾于以下指明期间及时段身处指明地点,须进行强制检测:
 指明地点 指明期间及时段   须进行检测日期
 啬色园黄大仙祠  2022年1月2日  1) 2022年1月10日或11日
   下午1时至2时  2) 2022年1月14日
     3) 2022年1月21日

啬色园黄大仙祠每天均定时进行清洁及消毒,并在上述指明日期(2022年1月2日)后曾进行全面的专业清洁消毒,以加强防疫。本园呼吁入园善信遵守政府的防疫指示,加强防疫,以抵御病毒扩散的可能。

如有任何问题,可直接联络卫生防护中心咨询。

宗教事务

宣道弘法 广结善缘

我国民间信仰是植根于中国古代正文化的哲理基础,有其秩序和内在理性,并随着时代的演变而发展出一套完备的组织和仪式。它包括原始宗教在内的民间传承、人为宗教在民间的渗透、民间普遍的信俗等文化。

民间信仰以民众为基础,在一般社会活动及日常生活中展现,如在家中供奉神龛和祖先、随着需要到各处庙宇烧香礼拜等等。其所崇拜之人物与对象范围十分广泛,包括自然现象、有功绩的历史人物及传说中的神与仙等,并因应民众的道德规范和对神鬼的忌讳而鲜明地建构出神明与妖魔鬼怪的二元对立层面。神与魔的对立形象更促使民众对于民间信仰充满迷思、幻想和吸引力。

追溯久远的传说、神话和历史,如天后、车公和关帝和黄大仙等等,神明多是超凡入圣,象徵着力量和道德秩序。为此,民间信仰开展了各式各样的宗教仪式,鼓励人与神建立联繫,以祈求神明的力量抗邪鬼祟或赐福。当中,民众可以通过简单的祈请、宗族传承下来的祭祀方法等与神明沟通,但在一些特定的时间及空间则须由道、释或儒的宗教人士参与支持。事实上,民众热衷崇拜神明并参与其宗教仪式,是希望解决生活上的问题及追来心灵上的辅助;因此,民间信仰除具有强大的实用性外,也必然地涉及超自然力量,令民众趋之若鹜及信仰敬拜。

从意识形态上,民间信仰是非官方的文化;从文化形貌上,它着重实践,并以地方的方言形式传承;从社会力量上,它备受社会民众支持并与民间生活密不可分的。

人们相信大自然一切事物:山嶽河川、日月星辰等均具有灵气,更有决定人类命运的特殊神袐力量,因而发展成为各种对自然的崇拜。

中国以农立国,四时耕作,日常生活在某程度上需要依靠曆法(农曆),当时人类没有精确的曆法,但可以透过北斗七星来判断季节,《鶡冠子·环流篇》[1]:「斗柄东指,天下皆春;斗柄南指,天下皆夏 …」说明能从北斗星斗柄的不同指向来判断四季。《诗经》有云:「七月流火,九月授衣」即七月份的黄昏如看到「大火星[2](二十八星宿之心宿星)」向西南方落下时,就要准备冬衣了。

由于星体运行及星宿对人间影响甚大,古人更从天上星体的光暗强弱、升落轨迹等,联想到人间的贫富贵贱,认为星辰的光暗、幻灭变化,跟人类的生老病死有关。从观察夜空星辰改变,便可探知人生有不同对应。如彗星俗称为「扫帚星」,它的出现,意味着不吉利,是有邪盗的灾星,可预知吉凶祸福。

而由于认为星辰具有神秘力量,因此古人崇拜星光,更发展出祭祀星辰。北斗七星除可以办别四季,还可以指示方向。因此,人类相信北斗是天地造化的枢纽,主宰人间四季变化的命运。由于北斗在天空中的独特地位,逐渐衍生出了「魂归斗极」的死后世界观。有「南斗注生、北斗注死」说法,俗语有「天上一颗星,地上一个人」,即是地上每降生一个人,天上就多添一颗新星,每死去一个人,天空就有一颗星陨落,认为每颗星的诞生,注定人出生后的寿命。道经云「凡人受胎,皆从南斗过北斗,所有祈求,皆向北斗。」[3]换句话说,南斗是负责已死未生,北斗是负责已生未死。形成了南斗掌管了人的生死寿命、富贵贫贱,北斗可以长寿、延生的「南北斗星辰信仰文化」。

汉代的张道陵天师创立道教,以《北斗星君赐福真经》与《南斗星君延寿真经》为依据,推行拜斗的独特科仪,也称「朝真礼斗」。在道教历代不断传承,今日啬色园黄大仙祠所举行之礼斗法会,主要为社会大众祈福延寿,祈求平安、消灾解难,发扬赤松黄大仙「普济劝善」的宝训,祈求香港祥和太平、吉顺安康,社会互谅相容,共进和谐美好生活。

注:

[1] 鶡冠子生于战国时期,终生不仕,以大隐着称。应劭《风俗通义》佚文说:「鶡冠氏﹐楚贤人﹐以鶡为冠﹐因氏焉,鶡冠子着书与《汉书》相合」。

[2] 中国古代又称大火,属东方苍龙七宿的心宿,用来确定季节

[3]《搜神记》中有记载有:「南斗注生,北斗注死。凡人受胎,皆从南斗过北斗,所有祈求,皆向北斗。」;由于北斗掌握人的死亡,所以道经一向都认为,信奉北斗的话,就可以得道成仙,更可以死籍上永久除名,所以在道教中有不少人拜奉北斗。

 

道教,是一个重视仪式的宗教,独特而多元的仪式是道教的重要元素之一。道教科仪,就是符合道教教义思想的祭祀和崇拜仪式。因此,道教又称这种仪式为「斋醮科仪」。

一、「科仪」释义

「科仪」一词中,「科」者可解为既定的程序。仪式进行时,各经师必须「照本宣科」,并依照一定程序敷演如仪;而「仪」则是既定的礼节、礼仪等,透过动作及法器意象等,呈现出朝拜者的恭敬心,及彰显仪式的神圣性。仪式的过程中,道长及善信能够在仪式中与神明沟通,从而得到身心淨化、心灵满足、接受神明教化及反思。另外,学界一般认为「仪式」是信仰的载体(vehicle),包括仪式中的流程、服饰、动作、法器、诵赞等,极具象徵意义,亦丰富了信仰内涵,让道长及善信从参与实践中体会信仰之科仪文化。

二、「斋醮」含意

说起「斋醮」,道教仪式原分为「斋」和「醮」。古人认为「斋」是祭祀仪式前的洁淨、静心的行为,形式表现有:沐浴、戒酒、戒荤、戒色等,后来引用了「心斋」观念,务求于心灵上做到清心寡欲,超凡脱俗;「醮」则是一种敬神的祭祀和礼仪,古时道教又称祈福禳灾道场曰「醮」。及至晋代,着名天师道道长陆修静修「九斋十二法」,整理和编订各种斋醮之法,「斋」、「醮」二字开始合一使用。直到明代时,太祖皇帝颁行《大明玄教立成斋醮仪》,正式将「斋」「醮」并称,后便有「斋醮科仪」的统称。

三、科仪发展

道教科仪始于东汉时创教之主张道陵,其时已有「三官手书」上表仪式,为善信及病人忏悔祈福。当时在民间社区亦有醮典的习俗,定期淨化地方,为民众祈福禳灾。及至唐代,道教得到官方重视,经常给天子为国家举行祭天仪式。明代时,《皇明恩命世录》、《汉天师世家》等书更记载张天师共为国家进行84次斋醮仪式。可见,自古以来,道教的斋醮仪式对于个人、社会与国家均有重大影响。

四、啬色园普宜坛科仪

本园科仪主要为普宜坛流传至今的醮仪,监院李耀辉(义觉)亦有参考清代之《广成仪制》及《道藏》内之科本而加以修订。本园至今已举办多个大型科仪,包括:「大献供」、「礼斗延生心经法会」等。举如于2011年与香港道教联合会合办「启建超度日本地震灾难暨世界各地灾民祈福阴阳两利大法会」,为日本大地震灾民祈福消灾。由2012年开始,本园更不定时举行「道家全真派皈依冠巾证盟科仪」,招募有意皈依的人士。于2013年,更获茅山乾元观邀请,为其「紫光坛」进行开光科仪,把本坛之科仪文化返传回内地宫观。

此外,本园亦有定期举行礼忏科仪,包括:赤松黄大仙师宝忏、关圣帝君宝忏、太上碧落洞天慈航灵感度世宝忏及吕祖无极宝忏,每月举行一次,邀请普罗善信一同参与,让善信于坛外诵赞经文,从科仪中体会道教教理、教义等思想,领受神明教化。

 

「道教养生观」是道家对于人的精神、生命、与自然的相互关係等等问题的探讨、认识和实践以追求达至长寿的最终目标。

自工业革命以后,科技突飞猛进,人类社会的物质生活水平在不断提升。不过,在不断优化生活的同时,也衍生很多环境问题。自然界的空气、水质、海洋、土壤等的种种污染,加上温室效应使气候变易,造成了环境灾难,包括产生超级颱风、连场暴雨、持续乾旱、炎热高温、重金属微粒,沙尘暴、山洪、泥石流等。面对这些灾难性后果,人类开始不断反思,并于近代成立不同研究学系,希望可以从不同角度解决问题,如环境社会学、环境政治学、政治地理学等。

实际上,早在我国周朝,当时政府已颁佈专为保护生态环境之法令,例如《野禁》和《四时之禁》,不准违背季节的规律行事:春生夏长,秋收冬藏,禁止胡乱去砍伐树木、割草烧灰、捕捉鸟兽鱼虾等,并设了管理山林川泽的官员。

道教作为中国土生土长的宗教,着重人与自然的和谐关係,强调「天地与我并生,万物与人为一」的精神,把人与自然看作一个整体,乃休戚相关与生命共存关係:春回大地、万物生长之时,提倡人类不杀幼小及怀孕的动物;草苗方长不折,遵循生态规律,就能够保持生态平衡。道教传统上早已存在有「顺应自然,环境保护」的意识。

道教经典《阴符经》提出「三盗既宜,三才既安」。「三才」,即天地、万物和人;「三盗」,即三者之间互相协调补充,不过份剥夺,也持续的护育,生命才能得到延续。人类要有节制、和谐,才可与天地、万物共存;并要顺从「观天之道,执天之行」的精神,不可胡乱破坏自然的法则。要保持生态自然平衡,就是要认识和掌握自然规律,才可达到「三盗既宜」。

另一方面,「慈、俭、让」作为道教三宝:「慈者」,道教徒以慈爱之心对万物,爱惜自然,不要以私欲去破坏自然;而对修道而言,当遵守「俭」,也就是今天我们説的节约精神,要节制自己欲望和野心;而当减少人与人之间竞争,不追求物欲上潮流,顺应自然环境,与自然和平共存,即是「让」。

今日人类为了欲望和生活需要,对自然环境过度索取、开发,已超越自然生态的负荷。老子提倡「见素抱朴,少私寡欲」,就是警惕我们,人类欲望如果不加限制,对自己的生活不知足,对自然环境无限破坏,最终伤害就是自己。

值得一提的是,香港啬色园黄大仙祠的孔道门挂有坛号及园名的门联:「坛号普宜宜悟道,园名啬色色皆空」。「啬色」两字就是包含道教「恬愉淡泊,涤除嗜欲」的义理。道教主张求道悟道、济世度人,多做行善积德之事,而不是满足所有物质慾望,放纵自己生活,做损人利己之事。道教最终极的关怀,应是追求自我觉悟的人生,最后与道合一、与天地造化同流的崇高理念;而慈悲为怀、利济苍生的环保精神,便是作为一个道教徒应视此信条为己任。